All presenting PhD students and Postdocs who defended their thesis between 23 August 2020 and 29 August 2022 (the conference start date) are eligible to apply to compete for the ECOSS prize.

The prize of 1500 EUR, sponsored by SPECS, will be awarded to the best oral presentation by the ECOSS-35 prize committee and handed to the winner on Friday 2 September 2022 (time slot to be confirmed)

EPS Poster Prize

All PhD students displaying posters at the conference and who indicated that their poster should be considered, will entered into the EPS poster prize competition. They must have been eligible for registration as a student and have chosen one of the student registration options when registering to attend the conference.

The prize of 200 EUR, sponsored by the EPS, will be awarded to the author of the best poster by the ECOSS 35 prize committee and given to the winner on Friday 2 September 2022 (time slot to be confirmed). The evaluation criteria are: scientific content, presenter’s knowledge and enthusiasm for their topic and poster aesthetics.

EPS Travel Prize

Three travel grants of 350 EUR per awardee will be awarded to young researchers who received their PhD degree no more than 6 years (or equivalent) prior to the application deadline and present a contribution, studying or working at a European institution or demonstrating economic needs. The registration fee will be waived for the three awardees.

You must have submitted an abstract through the normal procedure. EPS Travel Grants will be awarded by the ECOSS-35 prize committee primarily on the basis of scientific merit.

IUVSTA-Elsevier Travel Awards

The IUVSTA-Elsevier Awards are designed to give partial financial support to four PhD or Master students (within seven years of obtaining their bachelor degree at the start of the congress) to help them to attend the ECOSS 2022 conference at which they are presenting a paper.

The amount of the IUVSTA-Elsevier Award is up to EUR 500 (in addition to a waiver of the conference fee). In very exceptional cases, more than EUR 500 can be awarded on an individual basis.


The scheme is meant for students who have limited support to attend the meeting. Preference will be given to applicants from one of the developing countries (e.g., as mentioned in the list of eligible countries (make link to of the Research4Life program). The applicant must be registered as a Master or PhD student in a research program closely related to the scope of the congress. She/he should attend the congress and have submitted an abstract for an oral or poster contribution.


The applicant must submit the following items to the conference secretariat ( in order to be considered as a candidate:

1. Completed Application form ApplicationForm.

2. Copy of submitted abstract

3. Copy of student ID

Deadline for submission of the Application is April 15, 2022

Gian Paolo Brivio Award – Application deadline extended

We are pleased to announce that the Gian Paolo Brivio International Prize will be jointly awarded by Instituto Lombardo – Accademia di Scienze e Lettere, Milan and the European Doctorate PCAM – Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials.

The prize is awarded to a young researcher working at a European institution, aged no more than 32 years, for research within physics and chemistry of advanced materials.

Nominations should be made by 30 June 2022. The prize follows the amount of 5000 € to the winner(s).

The award ceremony takes place at the 35th European Conference on Surface Science (ECOSS-35) in Luxembourg.


Please follow this link more details.